A statement of support

A statement to students from the Office of the Dean

Read here

Advisory Council


The Woodring Advisory Council serves as a broad-based advisory group that provides feedback to the Dean on important items that influence faculty, staff, and students within the college. This visioning group addresses potential future directions and their implications at regularly scheduled meetings and reporting back to their constituent groups on the topics discussed.


The Woodring Advisory Council discusses wide-ranging issues that may include: 

  • Implications of adding or eliminating programs within the college.
  • Discuss implications of proposed bylaws revisions
  • Impact of budget cuts and/or budget growth on college programs and staff.
  • Innovative curricular additions.
  • Creative partnerships with community groups.
  • Discussions of college climate and its impact on students, staff, and faculty.
  • Roles of professional development/research/service centers.
  • College-level evaluations.
  • Initiatives advanced either from within or outside the College.
  • Strategic planning.
  • International directions.
  • Propose and review professional development proposals for the College.
  • Other visioning topics brought to the group by the Dean and others. 


Horacio Walker Dean
Jackie Baker Sennett Co-Associate Dean for Student Services & Equity and Diversity Committee Representative (Fall Quarter)
Tracy Coskie Co-Associate Dean for Academic Affairs & Chair, Dept. of Elementary Education (faculty)
Susan Cahill Staff Advisory Council
Christine Espina Faculty Governance Committee Representative (faculty)
Greg Hoffenbacker Director, Technology Services
Maddie Bishop Staff Advisory Council
Peter Johnson Director, Teacher Certification, Accreditation & Admissions
Bridget Kelley Technology Committee Representative (faculty)
John Korsmo Chair, Dept. of Health and Community Studies (faculty)
Charles Lambert Chair, Dept. of Special Education (faculty)
Bill Lonneman Interim Director, Nursing Program
Natalie Newman Woodring Resource Centers Representative 
Melissa Oscarson Interim Director, Office of Field Experiences
Daisy Padilla Torres Senior Consultant, Diversity, Recruitment & Retention
Kevin Roxas Chair, Dept. of Secondary Education (faculty)
Graciela Gomez AS Woodring Senator
Nathaniel Gaines AS Woodring Senator
Christina Van Wingerden Service Learning Specialist 
Ivy Yap Data Management & Assessment Specialist
Tony Stopperan Development Director  
Bridget Galati Compass2Campus Executive Director
Staff Support: Karen Olstad, Operations Manager



Minutes Academic Term Academic Year
2/26/19 Winter 2018-2019
11/06/18 Fall 2018-2019
5/08/18 Spring 2017-2018
1/09/18 Winter 2017-2018
11/14/17 Fall 2017-2018
10/03/17 Fall 2017-2018
5/09/17 Spring 2016-2017
4/11/17 Spring 2016-2017
10/11/16 Fall 2016-2017
4/14/15 Spring 2014-2015